Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

And another late post. I hope this is not getting to be a habit. A bad habit at that.

Manic Monday Midtown. Ready, set, go!

Yes I was at Coffee Town at 8:00 a.m. Yes I was dressed for the bike ride to work. Yes I am brave. Snow was predicted today. Maybe not in the morning, but certainly for the afternoon. I drank my coffee. I then put on three layers of clothing, maybe four, but who’s counting. (I don’t wear all my cold weather gear until I jump on my bike. I would be sweating as I drank my coffee if I were dressed for the cold.)

Jump on bike. One large back pack, one small back pack, and a lunch box (come on new bike basket, get here!) Just then I remembered I had forgotten my camera. I must take pictures of the blizzard that is soon to dump a foot of snow onto Memphis. Oh well. Another day of missed photo’s.

The ride to work was good. I did see a couple of people out along the Greenline, but not many. No locked gates today during my ride.

At work I waited for the snow. And waited. And waited. It rained. It rained some more. And that’s about it. By 5:00 p.m., I had a decision to make. Wear the rain poncho or ride without it. “Go without it”. If the misting rain gets bad, I can just put the poncho on later. Out into the rain I went. It really wasn’t that bad. I do have to say that I didn’t see one single person my entire ride. I had the Greenline to myself. By the end of the ride I was slightly soggy, but warm.

Dinner tonight? Steak. Yeah, the steak was great.

My plan for tomorrow? Order the book Moneyball; digital version. I love carrying my books around on my Ipod. Second plan for tomorrow? I have to take a test with the state. Should be easy. Third plan for tomorrow? Buy stuff for valentine’s day. I will be busy tomorrow so no bike ride to work.

I did receive an interesting note. Ballet Memphis will feature a show at “Playhouse on the Square” February 17-19th. From what I am told, some performances are selling quickly.

“If you’re looking for something to do this weekend, hit up Ballet Memphis at Playhouse and tell us (and Midtown) what you think. It’s 4 short contemporary works in one show. Each one is about 15 minutes long, so it would make for a nice Sat or Sun afternoon. 2pm shows both days. Also Fri and Sat night shows but they’re getting close to selling out.”

What? Your going to the ballet? Maybe. Before working in rock and roll for many years, I worked for a symphony orchestra for nearly a decade. Some symphony works I enjoy, others not. Opera? Some I like and others I can live without. Ballet? Depends. My wife enjoys ballet. I will say something. Support local art. Check out your local symphony. Go see an opera. And try the ballet. Who knows, you may like it. You need more information? Here it is. I do have to say, I love attending great events in my neighborhood! There is so much to see and do in Midtown. We are very lucky to be living so close to so many cool things.

Have an event you would like me to chat about? Send me a comment and I will see what I can do.

Done. Time for a drink and a movie. The movie? “Two Headed Shark Attack”. Okay, not really. But there is a movie out now with that title. I’m watching “Apollo 18”.

See you here tomorrow for hearts, chocolate and flowers.

