Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

Finally Friday Midtown.

Thinking about it, I should have started the morning with a waffle. I did manage to pick up the Memphis Flyer, but have not had a chance to read it yet. I gulped down my coffee and headed to work. Yes the temperature was frosty this morning. “I’m uh man! I can take the cold!” Hey stupid, why don’t you wear your balaclava for your ride? Well I would have to stop my bike ride, pull out the balaclava, take my helmet off, put on the balaclava, and then put my helmet back on again. Hmmm… to much work. (See how I REALLY like to use the word “balaclava”. Say it with me. “Bala-cla-vahhhhh”). I was smart enough to use my gloves this morning.

With only two miles to work I found this:

And in the words of Don Dokken "Now... I'm... breaking the chains!"

Yeah, I REALLY hate it when the gates are locked in the morning. I have to stop, turn around, go back, circle round to the street exiting Shelby Farms, and ride on the street to cross Walnut Grove Rd. I did report the locked gate to the park’s department as soon as I arrived at work, and now have the number stored in my phone for future use.

And… I’m officially old. I added a “fanny pack” to my bike gear. I do have to say the pack works well. I was tired of having keys, wallet, Ipod and cell phone hanging out of my pockets, ready to bail on me. I have a better feeling knowing that all the stuff I need is zipped up tight.

Okay I admit it, I forgot about Trolley Night downtown. Yes it is cold, but Trolley Night is a cool thing to do Midtown. Hmmm… put on calendar, “Trolley Night”.

I rolled out of work at 5:00 p.m. and headed to Shelby Farms. Just as I was crossing Walnut Grove Rd. I met up with the physical therapist who commutes a few days a week. The first thing he said was “Where are your gloves?” Yeah, I underestimated the temperature. “I’m uh man!” We chatted about the cold, the park, and my trip to New Orleans. He slows down for me when we meet up. The dude has an amazing (read expensive) bike. After two miles I’m worn out. He headed north from the county jail, I headed west towards home.

The rest of my ride was mostly uneventful. The only exception was a slight wobble from my front tire. The wobble wasn’t constant. It came and went. I checked the tire pressure and the tire was fine. I’m not sure what the problem is, and I haven’t had time to look at the bike closely.

Plans for tonight? The Tennessee Tease is putting on a show at the Evergreen Theatre tonight. Late tonight. 10:00 p.m. to be exact. As always, the show should be interesting. Memphis. Burlesque. Check it out.

The plan for tomorrow? Road trip to the big easy. Don’t worry, I should be able to post from the local bars, restaurants and the bayou’s. What? YOU want me to send you something from New Orleans? Sorry, a mixed drink can’t be shipped. But if YOU would like a post card from my trip to New Orleans just a day away, send me an email message to: kilmistr AT hotmail.com. Include “send me a postcard!” in the subject line and your mailing address in the body of the message (it can be your work address, mom’s address, home address, brothers address, it doesn’t matter to me). International peeps, you can get a post card as well, it will take a few extra days to get to ya. So there. Get a post card from the Big Easy for FREE!

Don't fear the reaper.

