Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Good Sunday to you Midtown. Are you loving the weather? I know I am. Get your coffee or beer and pull up a seat and let’s get started.

Yesterday I attended Cooper Young Beer Festival 2011.

Point me the way!

There was good beer and bad beer and many people in attendance. The first thing I noticed was the amount of young people in the audience. I would estimate that the crowd was 75% twenty-something. The other thing I noticed was that there were not many people in attendance at the start of the festival. I arrived minutes after the gates opened. Good for me, no lines at any of the beer tents. The other good thing? A 12 oz. cup to taste beer out of. Most pours were 5 to 6 ounces of beer.

Well I had to get the shirt didn't I?

On to the beers themselves. I really wanted to try the Bluff City Homebrewers clone of Magic Hat #9. The beer was okay, although there was too much fruit to the taste. The beer was not bad, just not great. Good try. Bluff City “Purple Rain”? Umm… next time leave out Prince and the Revolution. I couldn’t figure out where this beer was going. My favorites? Bayou Teche. Great beer by this group. And I tried all of the Bayou Teche beers. (Paul Ryburn thought the same. For a full report of CY Beer Fest 2011, read his blog). I kept returning to the Bayou tent for more beer again and again.

Near the end of the event, the tents began to pour full beers in the cups. And the food by Sweet Grass was excellent. A great bonus for the event was the “designated driver” wrist band. My wife hates beer, but she was able to get into the event and talk to those of us who were drinking. All and all the CY Beer Festival was good. Go next year Midtown.

(And… I had an interesting chat with a person attending the event. She said when she recently moved to Memphis, the estate agents told her she wanted to live in Collierville or Germantown. After working in downtown Memphis and living in Memphis for a while, she has decided she wants to buy a house in Cooper Young. “It’s such a cool neighborhood.” Yeah, we know.)

Today we headed downtown to check out the replica’s of the Nina and Pinta ships.

You can only see the flags of the ships from the street level.

The cost of the tour is $8 per person.

All aboard matey!

Anchors away!

The international sign for a pirate doing a jig, or thrown overboard.

The admission price does include a history lesson about the ships which I found to be interesting. And the ships are much smaller than you would expect. The only downside? Us land lubbers began to get motion sick while the ships rocked in the river. (It was windy today at noon which didn’t help).

So that new event coming up soon? “Catholics and the King James Bible”. The lecture will take place at CBU in the Spain Auditorium. It appears admission may be free, but I will have to check on it. The best part is that we live very close to CBU and have attended other lectures in the past. This event sounds interesting and we really enjoy historical stuff. It wouldn’t matter to me which bible was lectured upon, I find religion an interesting topic. The event is Monday October 24th at 7:00 p.m. Go!

And if you need a voodoo doll to protect ya, here it is!

Wait. You want more? How about the River Arts Fest 2011 downtown October 22nd and 23rd. We attend every year and always see great art. Go!

So what is the game plan for the rest of Sunday? Maybe a bike ride on my new $25 bike along the Greenline. I have a new spare tire and am ready to go.

There is much to do in Midtown and Memphis and here is a list below. Get out and live loud Midtown!

Macbeth by Shakespeare at Shelby Farms. October 5 – 23rd. Times vary. Get your ticketshere.

River Arts Fest October 22nd & 23rd ( www.riverartsfest.org ). Always good stuff to find here. We attend every year. Go!

Tennessee Tease will be performing “Once Upon A Midnight Eerie” at Newby’s Saturday October 22nd. Go!

Catholics and the King James Bible. Lecture at CBU, Spain Auditorium 7:00 p.m. October 24th. Go!

“House of 1000 Corsets” performed by the Memphis Belles burlesque group. The event takes place October 29th at 9:00 p.m. at the Hi-Tone. This event sounds awesome. Get more information here.

