Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

Finally Friday Midtown. Here we go.

I began the day at Republic Coffee. Bike ride? No. Business meeting? Yes. My friend and I spoke for more than one hour. Good talk with him. Since the talk lasted so long, I was not able to bike to work today. Next week.

After work, we headed to the Broad Ave. Art Walk.

Great night out. This time I purchased a small work of art titled “Lemmy”.

"Another backstage pass for you..."

The artist is a huge Motorhead fan like I am. He sold me on his work for $25.00. Cool.

The new bike shop on Broad Ave. is looking good.

Looking good.

And here are the hours the shop is open.

I will have to stop in soon for a look see.

Speaking of bikes, there was a great exhibit of locals and their rides. First up, the mayor.

Sweet ride mayor.

Cool man.

Funny thing about the above picture. I rode my bike from work recently and noticed the lights and camera, and I thought the photographer was taking pictures of the vegetables. Wrong. The picture is of Matt Farr from Shelby Farms. I see him often, but didn’t know who he was and what he did. You rule Mr. Farr.

Next up? Number one blogger in Memphis Kerry.

She loves Memphis and her bicycle

Good stuff she writes on www.ilovememphisblog.com. Read it for loads of good stuff Memphis. AND, I have a Schwinn Varisty bike, by the way, that I am fixing up this weekend.

Last but not least, it is Doug from www.bikinginmemphis.com.

Doug. All round cool guy and cyclist.

And there is a photo of the ghost bike.

Very sad that Midtown had a ghost bike.

There were a few antique cars parked along Broad Ave.

We sat at Jack Magoo’s and had wings for dinner.

The wings were good. The only problem? Service was slow. There were many people inside and outside. Good for the business, but patrons had to wait. I guess the staff were not ready for so many people.

Pictures from the birthday party last night? Here they are.

Fantastic beer the weissbier.

Dessert:

A skull or two with the key lime pie?

And I received four packs of Jelly Bellys for my birthday. Awesome. It’s the little things in life.

The plan for Saturday? Republic Coffee, fix two bikes, then Cooper Young Beer Festival 2011. If you attend, I’m the one wearing the Motorhead shirt.

Bored? Try these events out Midtown:

Macbeth by Shakespeare at Shelby Farms. October 5 – 23rd. Times vary. Get your tickets here.

Cooper Young BEER FEST! Saturday October 15th 1-5 p.m. Get your tickets here. I have mine, go get yours, and have a drink with me!

Tennessee Tease will be performing “Once Upon A Midnight Eerie” at Newby’s Saturday October 22nd. Go!

“House of 1000 Corsets” performed by the Memphis Belles burlesque group. The event takes place October 29th at 9:00 p.m. at the Hi-Tone. This event sounds awesome. Get more information here.

