Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

Bike lanes on Madison, Bike lanes on Madison, Bike lanes on Madison! Yeah baby!

So it was announced earlier today that the mayor has approved bike lanes on Madison. For everyone that opposed the bike lanes, I went to three different public meetings. I signed a petition. I emailed city council. I WROTE REAL LETTERS TO CITY COUNCIL AND THE MAYOR. If you didn’t want the bike lanes, why didn’t you organize and voice your opinion? Hey, let’s do things that encourage Memphis to EXERCISE. I am already spending my money on Madison, and will continue to do so. I seriously want to ride up to each shop along Madison, walk in wearing a bike helmet, and buy something. Anything. Just to show my support to the merchants. Please, please, please send a LETTER to the mayor and thank him for making the bike lanes happen.

And I CANNOT WAIT for the opening day ceremony for the bike lanes.

Speaking of bikes, how was my ride today? I began at Republic Coffee, then headed to the Greenline. There seemed to be a problem with my wifes back break. (If you are just tuning in, my bike is currently in the time out room in need of an adjustment). So, a quick fix and I took the back break off the bike. I do not recommend doing this for anyone out there, but it was something that needed to be done. After the break came off, my ride was smooth. 1000 times better than yesterday. Think of a big caddy with great suspension. This bike will not win any races. I make fun of my wifes bike, but I have to say the ride is great. So how long did my commute take this morning? One hour.

Work, work, work, and I rode back home. I made sure to use my wifes bell the entire way home. If you don’t have a bell for your bicycle, GET ONE. I had a blast ringing the bell when I passed others. Old ladies received two “ding-dings”. I was so jazzed by the bike lane news, I finished my ride in 57 minutes. Yeah baby!

When I arrived home, I started the grill. Steak, sausage, ribs, corn, shrimp…. oh it was great. Just letting you know. Awesome.

Make your plans for the weekend Midtown. Remember, Cooper Young Beer Fest is coming up this weekend. I have my ticket, get yours and drink with me. Cheers.

Memphis Events:

Macbeth by Shakespeare at Shelby Farms. October 5 – 23rd. Times vary. Get your tickets here.

Cooper Young BEER FEST! Saturday October 15th 1-5 p.m. Get your tickets here. I have mine, go get yours, and have a drink with me!

Tennessee Tease will be performing “Once Upon A Midnight Eerie” at Newby’s Saturday October 22nd. Go!

“House of 1000 Corsets” performed by the Memphis Belles burlesque group. The event takes place October 29th at 9:00 p.m. at the Hi-Tone. This event sounds awesome. Get more information here.

