Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Just when I thought this day could not get any weirder, it did. Welcome to Saturday Midtown, and prepare yourself for tales of the strange.

From the beginning; I DIDN’T stop in a Republic Coffee this morning. I had to work a half day. Nothing strange there.

After work I headed home, and took off the bike tire that had HOLES in it. I then headed up to Outdoors Inc. for some bike stuff. One new tire and one replacement tube later, I was set. When I arrived home I installed the new tire. Works like a charm. And here is where the day turns strange.

So two months ago my wifes cell phone goes missing. A person called shortly after and wants me to pick up the phone in a bad area of town. “See ya!” I said. It was an odd phone call to say the least. Yesterday the same caller called again. He wasn’t asking for money, he only wanted to return the smart phone he had found. “Okay, I will meet you Saturday”. This afternoon I called him. I asked if he wanted to meet downtown at Hueys. He said he would arrive at 4:30 p.m. (Unless you know karate, I would not try this at home). I arrive early and check out the street, looking for ninja’s who want to fight me for the cell phone. (I really did case the street for a while, looking for someone who was out of place. I was probably the only suspicious looking person on the street). I then waited at the bar for the show down. I could take him, I thought. Well maybe. As the meeting time neared, the phone rang. He called me. He asked my location. “At the bar” I said using my best Clint Eastwood voice. I waited patiently. A young kid walks up to the bar. “You have the phone?” I ask. He pulled out the phone from his pocket. The phone was in fine shape. He said he found it in a parking lot. He then put the phone in a box and forgot about it. He went on to say he hoped someone would return his phone if he lost his. I asked if he wanted a beer. He declined. I asked if he wanted dinner. He declined. I thanked him several times for going out of his way. Hey Midtown, just when you think all the good guys left town, here is proof that there are good people living among us. Thanks kid!

In case you haven’t heard, Gigi’s Cupcakes has moved into our neighborhood at Belvedere and Union (1680 Union) next to the Cellular South store. I walked in and inspected the goods. Those cupcakes looked good. The grand opening was yesterday. I watched patrons going in and in and in over and over for a while. The shop is small, but the display case is stuffed with fresh goodies.

Grand opening! 

My wife was so thankful for having her phone back, she took us to Memphis Pizza Cafe. Always good food at MPC.

Hello beer! After fighting ninja's, I deserve it.

Love the salad.

I am done Midtown. After working, fixing the bike and battling ninja’s, I will end the day with a drink. Enjoy your Sunday and live loud Midtown.

Memphis Events:

How about FREE a French Film Fest? 7:00 p.m. at the U of M, October 11th. We saw the Italian Film Fest which was GREAT. Go!

Macbeth by Shakespeare at Shelby Farms. October 5 – 23rd. Times vary. Get your tickets here.

Cooper Young BEER FEST! Saturday October 15th 1-5 p.m. Get your tickets here. I have mine, go get yours, and have a drink with me!

Tennessee Tease will be performing “Once Upon A Midnight Eerie” at Newby’s Saturday October 22nd. Go!

“House of 1000 Corsets” performed by the Memphis Belles burlesque group. The event takes place October 29th at 9:00 p.m. at the Hi-Tone. This event sounds awesome. Get more information here.

