Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

You have made it to the weekend Midtown. Your plate is full this weekend, so let’s get started.

Coffee Town was empty this morning. I believe some families are on fall break, so mom and dad are at home with the childrens. I felt good, and picked up a copy of the Memphis Flyer. I felt so good, I thought to myself, “Hey it’s Friday. Why not ride slow this morning”. Didn’t happen. Great idea though.

I did meet an older man while riding this morning. We ended up chatting about bike rides for about 10 minutes. Nice guy. He was listening to jazz, and I was listening to Metallica. Rock on.

Work, work, work and then I was ready to ride home. As I was topping off my tires at the office, the janitor walked in. By the look on his face, I was doing something morally wrong with the bicycle. “Your okay yeah?” “Uh yeah, I’m okay”. I guess he never saw someone airing up bike tires in the office before. Weirdo.

So I am riding home. As I arrive at the 3.5 mile marker along the Greenline, I start to slow down. FLAT TIRE. I have a two spares, compressed air, tire pump, tire lever, multi-tool kit, ect. I am ready for this. 15 minutes later the tire was fixed. After finding nothing wrong with the tire tube, I found two LARGE holes in the tire itself. This tire was WORN. Big time. I could see the tire liner easily. Time for a new tire. After I thought all was good, I jumped on my bike, and the tire was slanting to the left side. So I jumped off, and tightened the left bolt. Again the tire was not right. Repeat. Again and again. I kept tightening the left bolt. What was wrong? Hey Einstein, after 15 minutes, you may want to check the RIGHT bolt. Ooops, I forgot to tighten the right bolt. And that was the problem. And to the two guys who offered to help me out, I told them “My old man is a television repairman, he’s got this ultimate set of tools. I can fix it”. Lesson learned? Bring air, a pump, tire levers, wrench and a spare. Check.

Dinner tonight was Central BBQ. I was so hungry and tired I didn’t wait to take pictures.

I am officially tired. See you tomorrow Midtown. Live loud and have fun this weekend.

Memphis Events:

How about FREE a French Film Fest? 7:00 p.m. at the U of M, October 11th. We saw the Italian Film Fest which was GREAT. Go!

Macbeth by Shakespeare at Shelby Farms. October 5 – 23rd. Times vary. Get your tickets here.

Cooper Young BEER FEST! Saturday October 15th 1-5 p.m. Get your tickets here. I have mine, go get yours, and have a drink with me!

Tennessee Tease will be performing “Once Upon A Midnight Eerie” at Newby’s Saturday October 22nd. Go!

“House of 1000 Corsets” performed by the Memphis Belles burlesque group. The event takes place October 29th at 9:00 p.m. at the Hi-Tone. This event sounds awesome. Get more information here.

