Two for Tuesday Midtown.

Morning arrived sooner than later. “Bike To Campus Day” started at 7:30 a.m. (Really 8:00 a.m. but I had to put clothes on, brush teeth, ect). So I made my way to First Congo in Cooper Young. When I arrived I found that I was the first cyclist to arrive. So I did laps around the church. I usually do laps; I am not one to sit and wait. After another cyclist arrived, we chatted for a bit.”Are you faculty or a student?” she asked. “Neither” was my response. “I’m just here for the ride” I told her. After waiting several minutes, me and several others discovered we were waiting for Doug on the opposite side of the church. Ooops. Shortly after 8:00 a.m. the ride began.

We headed south to Southern and made our way east. My problem? My lungs were not used to the chilled air and I began to cough. Cough, pedal, cough, pedal pedal, cough, repeat. Sucks to be me. But I kept up with the group (okay I was lead ALMOST last person of the group, BUT I KEPT UP!) Twenty or so minutes later and we were on the campus of U of M. We quickly formed a group and took a group picture. Cheese!

Hey whats that over there? Free food! Cool.

And whats that over there? Free water bottle. (I didn’t bring a water bottle, hoping to get the FREE one from the ride). Score!

Fu-Ree water bottle. Thanks!

Here is where you double your money Midtown. Also pictured under the water bottle is the current book I am reading “Repeat Until Rich” about card counters. The book is good. I recommend it.

Next? My ride home west down Central. I really like the Central ride. I arrived home 15 minutes later, showered and shaved.

Next up? Coffee Town to feed the need for iced coffee. And I discovered ANOTHER interesting event coming to you soon Midtown. I found this from I Love Memphis Blog. (Do yourself a favor and read this blog daily for great Memphis stuff). So the event? “House of 1000 Corsets” performed by the Memphis Belles burlesque group. The event takes place October 29th at 9:00 p.m. at the Hi-Tone. This event sounds awesome. Get more information here.

And what did I do this evening? How about a short bike ride in Cooper Young. I always enjoy the bike rides in the neighborhood. What did I see? 3 young guys playing an old piano on the street. Really. You don’t see that every day.

That is all for today Midtown. Come back tomorrow for more bikes, Burlesque shows, and iced coffee. Cheers!

Memphis Events:

How about FREE a French Film Fest? 7:00 p.m. at the U of M, October 4th, 5th, 6th, and 11th. We saw the Italian Film Fest which was GREAT. Go!

Cooper Young BEER FEST! Saturday October 15th 1-5 p.m. Get your tickets here. I have mine, go get yours, and have a drink with me!

Tennessee Tease will be performing “Once Upon A Midnight Eerie” at Newby’s Saturday October 22nd. Go!

“House of 1000 Corsets” performed by the Memphis Belles burlesque group. The event takes place October 29th at 9:00 p.m. at the Hi-Tone. This event sounds awesome. Get more information here.

