Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

Manic Monday Midtown. Get your iced coffee and pull up a chair.

…and I started my day at Coffee Town with a cup of iced beans. Next. I went to work. Next. I drove home from work. Next. Guns and Roses is playing Desoto Civic Center. What?

Funny. Let me start by stating that I have the CD Chinese Democracy. Let me also state that the album is okay. Not great, but okay. Worth 10 years of waiting? Nope. Let me also state I SAW G & R “BEFORE” THEY WERE ROCK ROYALTY and all the critics bowed to their feet. At the time I didn’t particularly think they were great. G & R were so unknown at that point that I watched the band load their own equipment into a truck after their set. Secondly, I walked backstage at the end of the show and milled about the band. They did not impress me then, and they don’t impress me now. Yup, I have worked several shows featuring Slash and Duff, even watched shows with Slash. Nope, don’t really care. My take on the DCC show? The show will sell just by name alone. Do I think the show will be stellar? Doubtful. If you are great, why not play any tour dates in your home country for YEARS? If your album is great, why not do press? Even if I were a fan, it doesn’t make any sense. But hey, “Welcome to the Jungle” right? Read the G & R story here from the Commercial Appeal. “It’s so easy…”

"Another backstage pass for you..."

I am still reading the book “Repeat Until Rich” by Josh Axelrad. A great book about a card counting blackjack player. It makes me think about going to Tunica… with about $40.00. And I have a second gambling book arriving soon by mail; “Lay the Favorite” about the gaming industry. I am not a big gambler. No, I’m not even a mid-size gambler. “Micro Gambler” would be my name. When I win, I walk away. Rule number one about gambling, YOU CANNOT BEAT THE MACHINE. I’ve attempted it. It can’t be done. I’ve won $100 and tried to get another hundred out of the machine. Guess what? The machine takes it all back, and then some. That is why I like to play without emotion. Could have, would have, should have means nothing in the world of gambling. The machine has no emotion, so be like the machine. Have a set of rules and follow them, just like the machine. Just because you ALMOST won, doesn’t mean the next roll of the dice will be the big pay out. Play for the long haul, or if you win early, leave early. Beat the house, because the house is looking to beat you. And do not drink when you gamble. There is a reason they give you cheap booze when you play, you make mistakes and get sloppy at the game when you play drunk.

Oh yeah, here are pictures from my breakfast at Republic Coffee. Enjoy, I know I did. Hello “Nashville”.

I'll have two!

Sign me up!

What is on the agenda for Tuesday Morning? Only the “Bike To Campus” day. Meet us in Cooper Young at First Congo at 8:00 a.m. for a fun ride. For more information, check out www.bikinginmemphis.com as you should do daily.

Bike to campus poster 0911

Alright, I’m done. I have more Blackjack research to do…. I’m kidding… maybe. Get out and have fun Midtown.

Tuesday October 4th 8:00 a.m. Cooper Young. Bike to U of M with others for “Bike to Campus Day”. Read more about it from www.bikinginmemphis.com. Make your plans and attend this event!

How about FREE a French Film Fest? 7:00 p.m. at the U of M, October 4th, 5th, 6th, and 11th. We saw the Italian Film Fest which was GREAT. Go!

Cooper Young BEER FEST! Saturday October 15th 1-5 p.m. Get your tickets here. I have mine, go get yours, and have a drink with me!

Tennessee Tease will be performing “Once Upon A Midnight Eerie” at Newby’s Saturday October 22nd. Go!

