Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Happy Birthday Memphis Greenline! I am digging it!

It is Saturday Midtown. Let’s get the party started! I began the day at Republic Coffee with a Chi-Chi sandwich and iced coffee. Great way to start the day. I even had the chance to read the NY Times for a bit.

Next up was the Greenline birthday party.

Happy Birthday Greenline!

There was much more going on than I expected. Best party place? High Point. Good food, beer, bands, and people.

Happy Birthday to you!

Happy Birthday to you!

Happy Birthday Dear Greenline!

Bikes, bikes, and bikes. Did I say bikes?

Happy Birthday to you!

We rode up to the other two party’s; Waring and Podesta. Las Delicious was featured at Podesta, Central BBQ occupied Waring. The Greenline itself had a number of people biking, walking, skating, running along it. The problem I had? If you didn’t see me, you heard me. I was coughing the entire time while I biked 9 miles. Crap. Yes, I was the only sick cyclist while everyone else was enjoying the party. When we arrived home, I was feeling bad. Various body parts hurt. I am tired of being sick.

After a two hour nap, it was time for dinner. We checked into Huey’s (I am spending money on Madison, how about a bike lane?). Sorry, no pictures of the burgers. Those burgers disappeared in two seconds.

Trolley Night downtown Memphis Friday was great. See the pictures below.

Goat art.

We really liked this work.

I saw these stickers last month, but didn't take a picture. Okay Mongo...

Well I guess one wheel IS BETTER than none.

Even better was Rizzos. (Across from the Arcade). The restaurant was packed. Walking up the street, we noticed a couple of people inside an empty shop. They were advertising samplers for Rizzo’s. One word – FANTASTIC! I really wanted to sample much more of the samplers. Seriously, the taste was great. Michael Patrick can cook! People, GO HERE if you are downtown. I chatted with the co-owner while eating the samplers.

Go HERE!

Thats not dessert, those are tiny pieces of LOVE. Really. I LOVED 'em all.

Yes, I tried it all. Fantastic!

Check out the menu.

Rizzos AWESOME Menu

Cheese burger soup? I’ll take two! Chorizo Meatloaf? Who thinks of these things? Smoked duck tamale pie? I want one! Wait, go back to the cheese burger soup! I haven’t tasted it yet and I want some. Chef Michael Patricks menu is unique and delicious. I spoke to him about a month ago about the restaurant. After a few questions, I thought to myself, “Oh his food is good, but I am sure this new place will be expensive”. He proved me wrong. $5 for soup? Sign me up. Entrees less than $20? I am there. And just ask about him around town and you get the same answer again and again; his food is GREAT.

So stupid me decided to head to Pearl’s Oyster House for dinner. Why? Rizzos was packed, and we had an excellent dinner at Pearls one month ago. What happened Friday night? The soup I ordered was not nearly as good as one month ago. The soup had too much salt and was dense, and not in a good way. My wifes steak was good, not great, but good.

Steak.

Soup.

The food was OKAY. I was kicking myself for not waiting for Rizzos. Now I know better.

And now for something completely different. I like Jelly Bellys. But there are rules to follow. Rule #1 for Jelly Bellys – Don’t talk about Jelly Bellys. Rule #2 about Jelly Bellys – I don’t like the white Jelly Bellys and I don’t like the black Jelly Bellys. I know, weird. I have to pick them out every time. (When my 80’s metal band “Blind Lion” gets big, I will have a clause in my contract; NO WHITE OR BLACK JELLY BELLYS! EVER!) Rule #3 about Jelly Bellys – You have to eat them in a group based on flavor. You cannot just put them into your mouth willy nilly. Eat the green ones, or the red ones, or the orange ones together. Order people! You must maintain order when it comes to Jelly Bellys. Really.

So why am I typing this post at 8:25 p.m.? Well I SHOULD be on the Cycle Memphis 4.0 ride, but I am coughing so much, I doubt I could finish the ride. I am not a happy camper. I really wanted to attend. Hey guys, if you want to ditch the boom box trailer for a stage and band; here you go.

Stage pulled by bike.

Alright, I am still coughing. I WILL make the “Bike to Campus” ride Tuesday morning. I can at least do a few miles, cough or no cough. Have a great Sunday and come back for more love. Cheers!

Memphis events:

Tuesday October 4th 8:00 a.m. Cooper Young. Bike to U of M with others for “Bike to Campus Day”. Read more about it from www.bikinginmemphis.com. Make your plans and attend this event!

How about FREE a French Film Fest? 7:00 p.m. at the U of M, October 4th, 5th, 6th, and 11th. We saw the Italian Film Fest which was GREAT. Go!

Cooper Young BEER FEST! Saturday October 15th 1-5 p.m. Get your tickets here. I have mine, go get yours, and have a drink with me!

Tennessee Tease will be performing “Once Upon A Midnight Eerie” at Newby’s Saturday October 22nd. Go!

