Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Hump Day Midtown. Glad you made it to mid-week.

Just when you think few people read your blog and no one cares (actually I DON’T think this, but it sounded good), I received a surprise today. Republic Coffee gave me a great shout out on Facebook for the post I did on the food drive and Widespread Panic Ticket contest. Hey, if one person donates food at Republic Coffee because they read my blog, that is great. I’m not the big fan of Widespread Panic (I can’t name one song played by the band). But there are MANY fans of the band here in Memphis. Thanks for the food drive Republic Coffee and thank you for the shout out. RC is always finding ways to get me (and you) to donate to a good cause. Many other local businesses should follow suit. Cheers!

RC should have captioned this "He doesn't WORK here, but he still shows up every day". Thanks RC!

And speaking of RC, yes, I stopped in for my usual morning drink. A little birdie told me that M.P.D. officers (another group of Republic Regulars) were talking about speeding tickets, or the lack of writing tickets this morning. It seems officers are a bit upset with their change in pay and M.P.D. officers have failed to write a huge amount of tickets in the last couple of months. OR… most motorists in Memphis have just been obeying the traffic laws for the last few months. You be the judge. It is certainly an interesting story, although I have not found the topic brought up in the Commercial Appeal… just yet. I want to know just how the city plans to resolve this issue.

While finishing my coffee, I learned that the Amazon new ereader called “Fire” will debut at $199.00. Great price for a color ereader with apps. Even better? The NEW wifi Kindles will sell for $79.00. Hide the women and children, Amazon is storming the castle with these products and prices. I’ll keep my old Kindle (probably), but I may have to buy a new Kindle for a present for a lucky someone.

Other than the big Amazon ereader, news was slowwwww…… today.

Be on the look out for The Best Of from the Memphis Flyer. Hmmm…. I will have to weigh in on the results soon. AND… a special Jack Magoo’s review coming to you SOON!

Review coming soon!

Come back tomorrow for more Midtown fun, coffee, and traffic tickets! Cheers! Events? What events?

Trolley Night downtown 6-9 p.m. Friday night. Go get yourself some art and free wine and cheese.

Saturday- Greenline Birthday Party. 12-4 p.m. Saturday. The after party will be held at Shelby Farms. I- CAN’T -WAIT!

Saturday Night 8:00 p.m. Cycle Memphis 4.0. Go!

Tuesday October 4th 8:00 a.m. Cooper Young. Bike to U of M with others for “Bike to Campus Day”. Read more about it from www.bikinginmemphis.com. Make your plans and attend this event!

Cooper Young BEER FEST! Saturday October 15th 1-5 p.m. Get your tickets here. I have mine, go get yours, and have a drink with me!

