Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

Two for Tuesday Midtown. Get a cup of coffee and enjoy the day.

My day started at Coffee Town where I ordered my usual iced coffee. Since I have been arriving so late in the morning, there are not many people around the shop. I may have to stop in earlier just to see the shop when it is busier.

Work, work, work, and I was finished.

Still no bike to work this week. I am attempting to get over this cold.

I have been meaning to write this rant for some time. So here goes. What happened to Nicholas Cage? Not the man, who recently had to sell several properties because of debt owed to the I.R.S. I am talking about a great actor. Let us start in 1982 with a minor role in a HUGE movie; “Fast Times at Ridgemont High”. Dude, you are on the right track. He then goes on to “Valley Girl”. If you grew up in the 80’s, you saw this movie countless times on cable t.v. Cage goes on to “Rumble Fish”. Again another film that was an 80’s staple. This is where I stopped watching his movies. “The Cotton Club”, “Birdy”, “Peggy Sue Got Married”; I never saw any of these films. “Moonstruck”? No thanks. It wasn’t his acting ability that I disliked. It was the theme of the movies that made me stop watching the Cage films. But, in 1995 Cage makes “Leaving Las Vegas”. I have to say the acting in this film is stunning. If you have not watched this movie, check it out now. Right now. 1996 featured Nic Cage in one of my most favorite movies “The Rock”. Yep. I watch this movie EVERY TIME it plays on cable. My wife groans whenever I see the movie listed on the screen. “The greatest movie everrrrr!”. Apparently to capitalize on the success, Cage makes another action thriller “Con Air”. Good idea, but the movie didn’t come together quite right. “City of Angels”; no thanks. “8mm”; a disturbing movie. (Don’t watch any of the sequels). “Gone in Sixty Seconds”? Do not bother. “Captain Corelli’s Mandolin”? Okay, maybe. 2002 finds Cage making “Adaptation”. A very interesting movie, Cage playing the double role of brothers. And now for the apex of his career; 2004. “National Treasure” is produced. This is a favorite movie of mine. Sign me up. If I can’t get control of Alcatraz Island from an armed force, then I might as well go on a historic treasure hunt. 2005 finds Cage in “Lord of War”. Another favorite movie of mine. If you’re a guy, you LOVE this movie. War, guns, lies, money, sex and explosions. Sign me up. And where does Cage go next? “Ghost Rider” (rated “T” for terrible). “Next” (as in the movie, doubtful you have watched it). 2007 saw the follow-up to “National Treasure – Book of Secrets”; not really as good as the first NT movie. “Knowing”. “G-Force”? (I never heard of “G-Force” until I looked up the film list). “The Sorcerer’s Apprentice”? You must be kidding. He made “Leaving Las Vegas” and now Cage is in “Apprentice”? Oh, and a sequel to “Ghost Rider” coming soon to a theater or dvd near you. So what happened? As far as I can tell, apparently you only have to have large check pasted to the front of a script in order for Cage to make the movie. I mean “Ghost Rider” again??? “Knowing” (I KNOW that it is a bad movie). Mr. Cage, if you want to get back on track, win that golden statue, tell the audience that you want to thank the academy, and tell the audience you hope you are not leaving anyone out in your acceptance speech, then make a movie that has QUALITY and do not worry about how many zero’s are at the end of the check. You can do it. You can act like you did in “Leaving Las Vegas”. That actor is inside of you, waiting to ACT. Oh yes, that’s the word; ACT. And so ends my rant about Nic Cage.

Lots of stuff to do this week. Read below for some of the events.

Trolley Night downtown 6-9 p.m. Friday night. Go get yourself some art and free wine and cheese.

Saturday- Greenline Birthday Party. 12-4 p.m. Saturday. The after party will be held at Shelby Farms. I- CAN’T -WAIT!

Cycle Memphis 4.0 Saturday Night 8:00 p.m. Cooper Young. Go!

Tuesday October 4th 8:00 a.m. Cooper Young. Bike to U of M with others for “Bike to Campus Day”. Read more about it from www.bikinginmemphis.com. Make your plans and attend this event!

