Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

Are you loving the weekend Midtown? I know I am. It is a busy day in Midtown, so let’s get started.

I woke up early for a Saturday and rode my bike to the Cooper Young Festival at 9:00 a.m. I’m glad I attended the event early. At 9:00 a.m. there were not many people at the festival YET.

9:00 a.m. and not many people at the festival. I'm riding my bike! Watch out!

So I am riding my bicycle very slowly, looking over the various art, when a police officer tells me, “You can’t ride your bike here”. Really? Wow. It is 9:00 a.m. There are very few people on the street. You have to be kidding me. Okay. I’ll leave and take my money with me. Not cool. I’m sorry police officers have to work the Cooper Young event and you don’t want to be here, but you should really use common sense.

Next stop? Republic Coffee. When I walked up to the shop, I noticed a truck with four large dogs in the bed of the truck. One dog? I’ve seen that before. But four large dogs in the back of the truck? Do you work at a pet store?

The shop was fairly busy this morning. I had to ask since I didn’t see the item on the menu, “Do you have that sandwich that comes with bacon, egg and cheese?”. The waiter said the sandwich is called a “Chi-chi” and it wasn’t on the menu. The cost for said Chi-chi? Around $5.00. “One chi-chi please”. “Oh and an iced coffee”. Let me tell you, the chi-chi is good. Try it out the next time you are at Republic Coffee.

Having me a chi-chi

Next stop? Home. My turn to clean the house. For the next two hours I cleaned the house. Mucho fun let me tell you.

By 1:30 p.m. my wife arrive home and we headed to the Cooper Young Festival.

Now the festival is way crowded.

This is the same street I took a picture of at 9:00 a.m. Said street was crowded now.

Get your picture taken in Amurica.

I dropped my wife off and then drove home. I picked up my bike and headed back to the Cooper Young Festival. After only a couple of minutes, I locked my bike to a telephone pole and we headed into the festival. By this time the event was very crowded. I did notice that many works of art were still unsold by many artists. We saw one painting for $100 that we liked. Okay, we purchased said painting.

I started chatting with the artist sharing the booth. I began to ask about her works she was selling. “This one reminds me of a computer circuit board” I told her. “It’s inspired by an aerial view of San Francisco” she said. I find it funny how one person interprets a piece of art, when the inspiration comes from something completely different.

We also stopped at the Greenline booth. Yes I made a donation and received a t-shirt. I started speaking with the people in the booth. After telling them that I bike to work every day via the Greenline, they started to ask me questions about my commute. Yes, I love me the Greenline.

My Greenline shirt and honey

And I found a booth selling very local honey. I asked if I could purchase more of the same honey at a later time. The person selling the honey said she didn’t have any more than what was on display. I purchased a large jar of honey. I have been told local honey is great for allergies.

After all the shopping was finished, I found my bike and headed home.

Next up? Dinner at Los Delicious Restaurant. I ordered some flautas, while my wife ordered a taco and a margarita. I have to say the food was good.

Margarita!

All and all the day was great. Midtown is an awesome place to live. There is so much to see and do. Get out and live loud Midtown. And come back tomorrow for more art, food, and margarita’s.

Check out Mingo Fishtrap at the Shell Saturday performing at 7:30 p.m.

And if you are not tired by Sunday, there is always Brian Cayolle at the Shell Sunday performing at 7:30 p.m.

Oct. 1 12-8 Greenline Birthday Party – Where? On the Greenline!

