Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

“Welcome to Mutual of Omaha’s Wild Kingdom. I’m your host Marlin Perkins.” Well I’m not really Marlin Perkins, but you would think I was by the days events. Let’s get started.

I began the day at Coffee Town later than usual. Running late I hit the door… and found a line five customers deep at the counter. New barista working the counter today. Wrong day to be late. So I found a great staff member and asked for an iced coffee to go. Minutes later I was out the door with my iced coffee. I placed my iced coffee in my cup holder and headed to the Greenline. I really like having a coffee to go while riding my bike. I think it freaks people out seeing my coffee in my cup holder, motorists and cyclists alike. AND, where are the trash cans along the Greenline? Hello. We need trash cans please. Sponsorship, anyone? Local business, please sponsor a trash can or two or three along the Greenline. There used to be ONE trash can near Podesta, but that trash can now seems to be missing.

And can I state for a fact that it was COLD this morning? Yes, I wore a jacket for the first time in months. Goodbye 106 degree weather.

So I get near work and find….

Camels. I don't know what to say...

two camels. Hmmm… I’ts not every day you find a camel on the way to work. Or is it?

I found this camel at work many years ago. Yep, that’s me riding the camel at work. Like the work pants? Cargo pants or shorts was the name of the game back then. The camel was on its way to be relocated to a back yard as a yard ornament. Cheers to you Mr. Camel.

Work, work, work and then back to the Greenline Mr. Marlin Perkins. So I am riding at Shelby Farms, and I find two deer on the bike path. Not wanting to spook said deer, I slowed down. “Cyclist hit by deer, news at 10”, was not what I wanted featured on the 10:00 p.m. news tonight. The deer finally ran off and I increased my speed.

Getting near the end of the Greenline, I think I see two cats running across the Greenline. No, they are raccoons. For those of you counting at home, make that two camels, two deer and two raccoons today on the Greenline. Who would have thought.

I found this sign along the Greenline announcing the Greenline birthday party. I am planning to attend ALL DAY! Yeah baby!

"You gotta fight, for your right, to parrrr-tay"

Arriving home, I found this letter from the Mayor regarding the Greenline. (click to enlarge the letter)

Nice to know even though I do not get an answer I want, at least I get an answer to my letter. Thank you Mr. Mayor for at least writing me a real letter. I do appreciate it.

The Slider Inn continues those funny ads in the Memphis Flyer. Check out the latest ad here from the Memphis Flyer.

It's good to know you can still get good tail in Cooper Young

There is a new app in town, and it places all of the daily deals in town in one place; on Binggo. I will download this app and give Binggo a try. I really like daily deals, but I have to check Woot, and Groupon, and Living Social, and Get Your Perks, and Just pay Half and so on and so on. Yes, it would be nice to find all the deals on one app.

From what I hear, Jack Magoo’s is now opened. The new sports bar is located on Broad Street. I may have to take a ride there to check out this new bar. And have a few beers while I am there.

Marlin Perkins is now tired. Due to technical difficulties, I have been working on the post for way to long. Get ready for the weekend Midtown. Have fun at the Shell, Cooper Young Festival, or where ever you find yourself. See you here tomorrow for more camels, raccoons, and coffee. Cheers!

Jack Magoo’s is opening 9/16 on Broad Ave. (2583 to be exact). I have been waiting for this. I may have to wind my way north along Tillman from the Greenline to get here for a beer or two. More information at Facebook.com.

Eric Gales performs at the Shell Friday evening performing at 7:30 p.m.

And then there is the Cooper Young 4-miler 9/16 7:00 p.m. which should be fun. Get your race here.

And if you haven’t had enough, there is the Cooper Young Festival 9/17 9:00 a.m. – 7:00 p.m. Go to this people. We love attending the event every year. Go!

If you need more entertainment, there is Mingo Fishtrap at the Shell Saturday performing at 7:30 p.m.

And if you are not tired by Sunday, there is always Brian Cayolle at the Shell Sunday performing at 7:30 p.m.

Oct. 1 12-8 Greenline Birthday Party – Where? On the Greenline! Go!

