Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

Welcome to the work week Midtown. Five days of work, then you get to play. Order an iced coffee and read on.

I began the day cycling along the Greenline. What’s new on the Greenline? It appears there is a new mural going up at about the midway point. And this is the first day I DIDN’T bring my camera. Duh!

Work, work, work and I made my way back home along the Greenline. Good ride today.

My wife stopped in at a new restaurant named “Southern Belle” for lunch. She picked me up a plate of red beans and rice. Mmmm…. good. You can check out the Southern Belle Facebook page here.

Mmmm...

Get your good food here

From the Facebook page:

SOUTHERN BELLE HOT LUNCH MENU- DELiVERY AVAILABLE

Daily Offerings-

$7.50 and a choice of 1 side with a hot roll

MONDAY: Red Beans and rice with andouille sausage

TUESDAY: Beef Tips over garlic roasted mashed potatoes

WEDNESDAY: Crawfish Etouffee over basmati rice pilaf

THURSDAY: Bourbon glazed peach pork loin with Mississippi Grits

FRIDAY: Blackened Chicken Pasta tossed in a creole tomato sauce
Address: 1329 Madison Avenue, Memphis, TN 38104

F.Y.I. There was enough food for lunch or dinner for two or two meals for one. Go get yourself some good food.

CNN news reports that Amazon is in talks to roll out a subscription service for their bookstore. I’m in. I’ll pay x amount of dollars for books to download on Kindle. Read more about Amazon here.

I thought it was odd that I found the Post Secret app while checking out the app store yesterday. Now you to can tell your most deepest dark secret with the mobile app. Go ahead say it. You cheated on your 10th grade science test. Now you can tell the world. Read more about the Post Secret app here from CNN.

The week is a busy one. Make sure you check out the upcoming events this week. Get out and live loud Midtown. And come back tomorrow for more coffee, murals and apps. Cheers.

Journey, Foreigner, and Night Ranger will bring the 80′s back to Memphis at the Fedex Forum. Get your Journey tickets from the mighty Ticketmaster.com. And yes, I have worked a Journey show as well as Foreigner. “Don’t stop, believing…”

Here is where things get crazy.

The Cooper Young Artist Invitational is Thursday 9/15 6-9 p.m. The event will be located at the David Perry Smith Fine Art Gallery 703 New York. Get your art here.

Jack Magoo’s is opening 9/16 on Broad Ave. (2583 to be exact). I have been waiting for this. I may have to wind my way north along Tillman from the Greenline to get here for a beer or two. More information at Facebook.com.

And then there is the Cooper Young 4-miler 9/16 7:00 p.m. which should be fun. Get your race here.

And if you haven’t had enough, there is the Cooper Young Festival 9/17 9:00 a.m. – 7:00 p.m. Go to this people. We love attending the event every year. Go!

