Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Manic Monday Midtown. I am still feeling the love from this last weekend. Midnight Bike Ride, you rule.

I started the morning out with one big cup of iced coffee. Wait. What are those dark clouds hanging overhead? And the clouds appeared very near to my destination, Shelby Farms. It wasn’t raining in Midtown, so I decided to chance the ride to work. Rain be damned. The only problem I had with the morning ride was the wet pavement. I usually take the hills slower at Shelby Farms if the ground is wet. Other than slowing down at Shelby Farms, the bike ride was good. By the way, the guy who I see Monday-Friday who commutes daily appeared to have a new bike. At least the bike looked smaller. And he now had a pack attached to the front of the bike. Maybe his bike is in the shop.

Work, work, work. (Well even more work. I had to stay an hour later than usual).

I left work and headed home. Two miles into my ride and I have my head down, not expecting much on the quiet road. Out of nowhere, more than 100 female joggers stormed the road. I’m saying these joggers were all over the road. I was so stunned I didn’t reach for my camera. “Excuse me. Coming through. Watch out.” That was about all I could say. I felt like a salmon wading upstream in a river of women.

At the Mullins intersection, I spotted a very cool antique car. I wish I took a picture. Next time.

The ride home was good and the temperature much cooler. See ya summer! I loved ya, but I am glad fall is right around the corner.

I finished my library book, “The Jefferson Key”. Good book. Not great, but still a good mystery. And thanks to the Memphis Library, the book was FREE.

What is coming up this week?

Cooper Young First Thursday is nearly here. Get out of your house people. See other people. Stop by for a bite to eat (maybe at the Sweet Grass Next Door), have a drink (Cafe Ole) and check out some art, or a band. Or get a coffee at a cool coffee shop.

Speaking of Cooper Young, September 16th 7:00 p.m. is the Cooper Young Festival Friday 4 miler. Should I attempt the run? I haven’t run since last year.

Zoo Brew. Beer. Go. Great. Beer. Did I say beer? Did I say all you can drink beer? Get your zoo brew beer and help the animals while drinking beer. Get your zoo brew tickets here September 2, 7:00 p.m.

Ahoy matey’s. Pyrate Fest is sailing onto Mud Island September 3rd and 4th. And I’ve been told that the pre-pirate fest will occur at Celtic Crossing Friday Night, September 2nd. I may attend the festival just to look for a ring or two. Get more information about the Pyrate Fest here.

Cycle Memphis has a bide ride scheduled for September 10th at 8:00 p.m. Meet at Cooper Young. Just look for all the bikes. I really want to attend this event. Get more information here from Cycle Memphis.

Ready for music from the 80’s? Journey will perform at Fedex Forum September 14th at 7:00 p.m. Be prepared to sing all your favorite Journey hits at the end of the evening. Get your tickets here from the mighty Ticketmaster.

Did I already mention a beer festival? How about another? Cooper Young Beer Fest, October 15th 1-5 p.m. $30 for tickets. Yes, I will be in attendance for this beer fest.

Okay, get your plans together for the weekend. You have an extra day to play! Get out and do something. The weather is getting cooler and cooler, which makes for a great time out. See you here tomorrow for more coffee and bacon. Cheers.

