Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

Two for Tuesday Midtown. Ready, set, go!

What did I do this morning? You guessed it. Coffee Town. I drank my coffee quickly and hit the ground running (or should I say cycling) on the Greenline.

Coming back from work via the Greenline, I noticed a couple of interesting things. First, there were three young adults (college age kids) sitting in lawn chairs along the Greenline at mile marker five. The kids appeared to be sitting, talking and watching those on the Greenline. Curious, but whatever makes you happy.

Then at High Point Terrace, I found several police officers, a police car and a couple of police mopeds sitting at the intersection. The officers had ticket books out, but I couldn’t tell if the officers were writing tickets to traffic that didn’t stop for pedestrians and cyclists or cyclists who didn’t stop at the stop sign. I have witnessed the same situation in the past but didn’t stay around long enough to see exactly what was occurring.

I wrote a review of the Forain exhibit at the Dixon Gallery a couple of weeks ago. This exhibit is great. Go! Then I received an email from the Dixon about an upcoming event. The Dixon will feature a presentation about Paris in the early 1900’s given by Rhodes Professor Jeff Jackson. Go check out the lecture, Sunday 8/21, lecture at 2:00 p.m.  Read more about the event here. Go!

Speaking of the Dixon, check out the Dixon Art on Tap. Friday September 9th, 6-9 p.m., features more than 60 beers to taste. Get more information here.

Speaking of beer, the Cooper Young Beer Festival is Oct 15. $30 in advance / $35 at door. Get more information here. This is one beer festival I will attend. I love me some beer festival.

And there is the Zoo Brew, Sept 2nd at the zoo. I have attended this event in the past. If you want pointers, arrive early. The event gets crowded as the night goes on. If you arrive early, many booths do not have lines. Cool. Go to the foreign beer section first. Stand at the booth and drink beer. The lines for this selection of beer get longer as the evening goes on and the beer runs out faster. This is a great beer festival. Read more about the Zoo Brew here. Go!

Not speaking of beer, I am about 1/4 into the book The Jefferson Key by Steve Berry. A good read, I am really enjoying this book.

That is all Midtown. Get out, enjoy your life, and have fun. I will see you here again for Weird Wednesday.

Cheers!

