Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

How does the song go? “The heat is on”. Yes it is. Did you survive the weekend Midtown? I am BEAT. We did many things today and I found out a few things. Let me tell you about the day.

Last night we headed downtown for dinner at Papa Pia’s. Yes we had a daily deal to use. $10 for $20 for food. Sounds good to me. I was in such a hurry to eat, I forgot to take pictures of dinner. I somehow remembered to take pictures in the parking garage next door though. Good dinner.

Sleeping late today Midtown? Not me. I was up early, 7:00 a.m. to be exact. I am not sure why. I began by heading to Home Depot to pick up a bit of border for the flower bed and stakes to stake the border down. Then I headed to Krogers to shop for the week. $60 later and I had groceries. Let me just say, I don’t like shopping, for anything.

What is next? Brunch downtown at Beignet Cafe. I have never been to this restaurant before. The all you can eat breakfast cost’s $15. I usually do not go for all you can eat, since the food quality is usually not that great. This food was very good. Bacon, grits, waffles, made to order omelets, chicken, cat-fish, pork, and a few other choices. I went back for seconds. I wouldn’t eat here every week, but I would take visitor’s from out of town to Beignet Cafe.

We also stopped in at Bluff City Coffee. I have passed by here, but have never stopped in for a cup of go go juice. I ordered an iced coffee. Wow. Talk about STRONG. My wife wouldn’t let me finish the drink since the cup of coffee was so powerful. Free wifi available here as well. Okay place, but not Coffee Town.

Next stop, Outdoor Inc. on Union. I picked up a spare tire tube, just in case. Kids, be prepared.

And the next stop? The movie “Captain America“. This is a good action movie. Go see it. There is not a big story here, just lots of Nazi killing. We both enjoyed the movie.

Is anyone up for a midnight bike ride? Check this out. A night bike ride with many others sounds fun. $35 for adults. The date? August 27th at 10:00 p.m.-3:00 a.m. See event details here. I will have to add this to my calendar.

Speaking of bikes, I didn’t ride my bike this weekend. No worries, I am sure I will be riding my bike to work this week.

I finished the flower beds this evening. Many neighbors have stopped by to say how good the flower beds look. I tell them it is a work in progress. A few plants here, a new border there.

Remember, this Friday is Trolley Night downtown. Saturday (Friday and Sunday as well) features Tennessee Tease at the Evergreen Theater. I have a feeling I will be beat again next weekend.

Get out, have fun, get yourself some iced coffee and a daily deal or two. I will see you back again here Monday.

