Thirsty Thursday Midtown. I hope you enjoyed your day. I have a TON of things to write about. Pour me some iced coffee and I will tell you things. And show you things.

The iced coffee was cold at Republic Coffee and I had a fast cup before I dashed off to the Greenline this morning. The ride was uneventful; just how I enjoy my commute to work.

C-R-A-Z-Y day at work today. And by 5:00 p.m., it was over. I checked the forecast and the weatherman predicted rain by 6:00 p.m. So I rode, fast, faster, fastly down the Greenline to escape the rain. Except the rain didn’t appear. Thank you incorrectweather.com.

Arriving home I showered and we made our way to Cooper Young for First Thursday. The band the Vynals were playing at the corner and were very good.

If you enjoy that music from the 60’s and 70’s, you would enjoy this band. I always say, throw a rock and you will most likely hit a very good band in Memphis. I liked the band so much I began to dance with a friend on the street. I danced poorly, but I didn’t care. I was loving the evening.

I also found a small coffin for purchase. $10 for the black wooden box decorated with skulls. Hmmm…. I had to pass. We have a bit many skulls about the house. Maybe next time.

I almost forgot. My wife purchased guitar pick earrings. This could be useful when I find a guitar to play, but I need a guitar pick to play it with. $10 Midtown.

Starving, we headed to Sweet Grass Next Door. One burger and one bowl of mussels later, I was no longer starving. Sweet Grass Next Door has a few paintings I had viewed previously in and around Cooper Young. Very good art, out of my price range.

I am not sure of the title, but I have always called it “Electric Horse”.

Tour de Bird. WHAT? Yup, bike ride from Cooper Young to downtown for a baseball game. The ad even offers a ride around the field for cyclists. I may have to attend. Cost? $7.00 on Sunday July 17th. Thanks Paul Ryburn for the tip. (read his blog for good stuff). Get more information for Tour de Bird here.

Oh yeah, the Madison bike lane meeting 7/6/11 had a write up in the Commercial Appeal. Although somewhat informative, I wish the writer would have given much more information to the public. Read the article from the Commercial Appeal here. And check out those comments about the article. I wonder how many of those who commented actually went to the meeting.

And another thing…. READ www.bikinginmemphis.com. Doug has good stuff for you. I read his blog daily.

I probably had more things to write about today, but the hour is late, and I am beat. There is a cold beer in the fridge with my name on it. Well maybe or two or six cold ones with my name on it. Get ready for the weekend Midtown, because here… it….comes. (oh yeah, click on and check out the updated calendar of events below!) Cheers to ya!

