Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

Waffle Wednesday Midtown. This is another special, double wide, super sauce, make that a double kind of post.

My day started at Radio Shack. What? Yes, Radio Shack. I was looking for two different cables for my Raspberry Pi Atrix Lapdock.

Even though I have just as many cables as Radio Shack, neither Radio Shack or myself have the two exact cables that I needed. After failing at Radio Shack, I headed to Republic Coffee to sit and research the cables that would get that Pi Top working. You can buy ANYTHING on the internet. The good news is that I found one cable for $8 and change on Ebay. And I found the other cable at an electronics store online. So now the waiting begins. At least I didn’t have to order parts from China (I could have used that option, but I do not want to wait that long for one small cable). After three cups of coffee (yes 3! – I was thirsty), I had my cables ordered. Come on cables.

Crawfish. I like crawfish. I enjoy crawfish festivals. Last year we attended the Mudbugs in March event downtown.

Hey why not have some gumbo? Okay.

The event was good. I didn’t go for the VIP tickets ($35 – all you can eat), instead we paid for the general admission tickets ($5). Music, beer and mudbugs. What more do you want? You can read more about the event here. Mudbugs in March – 3/16/2013 2-8 p.m. at Court Square Park downtown. Thanks to Paul Ryburn for posting the event on his blog. We will attend, but I will probably have to work until 5:00 p.m. that day.

Speaking of beer, I found this nifty post on Twitter from tenncyn.

“Ladies of #Memphis, want to be more active in the #craftbeer community? Let me know! Working w/@girlspintout to start a new #MEM chapter!”

GirlsPintOut? Excellent idea. It gets better. Check out the Facebook Page; http://www.facebook.com/MemphisGPO. “We’re gals into grolsch. Ladies into lagers. Princesses into pilsners. Angels of ale.” Excellent. When I attended the Cooper Young Regional Beer Fest, I noticed many young women enjoying a few cold beers. It wasn’t just a bunch of guys standing around drinking beer. It is great to see women getting to know GOOD BEER. Ladies, teach your man about beer! I really do hope this takes off for Girls Pint Out. Good luck!

More beer. So I posted last Saturday about a New Belgium beer tasting event at Joe’s Wines and Liquors at 1681 Poplar. Here is the scoop; “Come taste some delicious New Belgium beers from 4-6:30 pm Thursday 2/28/13 in the store. New stuff & old favorites plus pre-orders.” Doh! I have to work late Thursday. I would have been there.

New Belgium beer glass

Lastly, I found this amazing story. Even if life deals you a terrible hand, you never know when or how you can turn things around.

Done. Time for a

Spaten octoberfest

and I will see YOU back here for more beer, beer and crawfish. And beer. Cheers!

Memphis Events:

2/28/13 4-6:30 pm New Belgium Beer Tasting – Joe’s Wines and Liquors -1681 Poplar. Go!

3/16/13 Mudbugs in March 2-8 – Court Square Park $5 admission. Beer, music and mudbugs. Go!

