Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

Manic Monday Midtown. Get some coffee!

My day started at Republic Coffee. The best part? The temperature was 60 degrees outside. Wow. That means I do not have to wear 3 layers of clothing, a balaclava and gloves for my bicycle ride to work. So after my one cup of coffee, I was out the front door, heading east along the Greenline.

From the start of my ride, I let the dogs out. In other words I was really moving. My legs were in the game today. Something new on the Greenline?

Greenline Sign Waring

I saw another sign tower placed at the corner of Waring and the Greenline.

But wait. At the Podesta intersection, another sign tower was erected. Keep ‘em coming Memphis. I finished my ride in one hour. That is good time for me.

My ride home started at 5:25 p.m.; leaving later than I wanted to. I raced to Shelby Farms. I wanted to get to the park prior to the gates closing. I was pushing that bicycle down the road. I arrived at Shelby Farms JUST as the gates were closing. Made it! But I am not slowing down one bit. The weather was perfect for an evening ride. Those hills in the north-west part of the park? I had those for dinner. I was flying thru the park.

I am in front of the Shelby County Detention Center, FLYING down the Greenline. I’m not letting up. Go, go, go! I enter the forest and keep my fast pace. As I arrived at the Waring section in the dark, I noticed another cyclist ahead of me. I’m going to catch you! He is way ahead of me. I can do it. At the next intersection, I almost catch him at the light, but he picks up speed. Okay, the next intersection. Finally as I get into the next block of the Greenline, I catch up to him. I pulled up next to the cyclist and then decided to hang back. I could have passed him up, but I didn’t see the point. I let him roll on ahead of me. By the time I finished my ride I discovered I had made the ride in 50 minutes, 10 minutes off my best time. Wow.

A few things to note: I found a GREAT article from Kerry at www.ilovememphisblog.com. I check her website daily and so should you. The article is posted by The Commercial Appeal and is titled “Transportation officials extol benefits of bike lanes in Memphis meeting”. You mean cycling is not only good exercise, but can get you around town AND bike lanes promote local business? You don’t say. Love it. There is some GREAT information about cycling and cities in this article. Read it.

Kerry also has an excellent contest for Valentines Day. Check out said contest here.

Doug over at BikingInMemphis.com posted his Sunday bike ride to his blog. You need to run errands? Take your bike. You can do that. Grocery store, library, home improvement store; you can ride to all of those places here in Midtown on your bicycle. (Of course it helps if you own a bike basket, or at least a back pack) Doug’s day was way more productive than mine on Sunday.

And I am done. I can’t wait for the warm weather ride tomorrow morning. See YOU back here for more bikes, beers and more bikes. Cheers.

Memphis Events:

Cupids Revenge – Sock It To Me Burlesque – Feb. 2nd 9:00 p.m. Newbys. Go!

Brooklyn Brewery Tap Takeover – Feb. 4th Flying Saucer 7:00 p.m. and Feb. 6th for Brewery Night. Go!

Dishcrawl Memphis – Cooper Young Feb. 5th. 7:00 p.m. Get YOUR tickets now and GO!

 

