Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

Waffle Wednesday Midtown. Get some.

Lots to discuss, so let’s get started. I spent the morning at Republic Coffee with a hot cup of coffee. Reading the news, I came across this headline: “Man Outsources Job to China”. Awesome. Why didn’t I think of this first. Pay someone in China a fifth of my paycheck to do the same exact work. Brilliant.

From http://www.cnet.com, get 9 PC games for $5.91. Okay, I’m game (pun intended).  Yes, the games are dated, but these are quality games. Read more here from http://www.cnet.com. Hmmm…. time to get my wallet out. A great price to pay for an afternoon diversion.

Single? Check out the app Crazy Blind Date from OkCupid. Cnet reports how singles can find a blind date by answering a few questions, the time when you are available for a blind date, and picking a favorite local bar or restaurant. Does the app work to find love? I don’t know, I’m not single. But it is a way to get out and meet new people.

Want to get around a city while on vacation on the cheap? Check out this video from http://www.cnet.com. Google Maps appears to be the way to go. I wish I had thought of using Google Maps while in New Orleans. I did use the local bus webpage to get me to and from Magazine Street though. I’ve used local mass transit in many cities and it works. Try it!

Lastly, I am excited about seeing the documentary “Searching For Sugar Man”, tomorrow night at the Brooks Museum. Yes, I have purchased my tickets. The film sounds excellent. Here is what IMBD has to say:

“In the early 1970s, Sixto Rodriguez was a Detroit folksinger who had a short-lived recording career with only two well received but non-selling albums. Unknown to Rodriguez, his musical story continued in South Africa where he became a pop music icon and inspiration for generations. Long rumored there to be dead by suicide, a few fans in the 1990s decided to seek out the truth of their hero’s fate. What follows is a bizarrely heartening story in which they found far more in their quest than they ever hoped…”

Wow. I.CAN’T. WAIT. Get your tickets here. $8 / 1/17/2013 – 7:00 p.m.  I will see YOU there.

Oh and one more thing. The “LIVING LOUD IN MIDTOWN” blog is TWO YEARS OLD today. “You say it’s your birthday…” It seems just like yesterday I began writing on a daily basis. Weird coming from someone who HATED writing a daily journal. (never happened in my youth) I guess I find writing much more pleasant now is because I can insert pictures, webpage links, ect. And the audience is not ONE (myself), it’s YOU. My inspiration for writing a daily blog? Ross Halfin (U.K. photographer), Mick Wall (U.K. writer), Doug over at bikinginmemphis.com (very cool cyclist), Kerry at ILoveMemphisBlog.com (who has great recommendations for things to do in Memphis) and Paul Ryburn (need bar tips downtown, he’s the man). The other inspiration for writing daily? I was sick and tired of attending poorly attended events. “Why aren’t more people out and about? This festival/movie/restaurant is GREAT! Where is everyone else?” Get off your sofa. It will be there when you return from a great time out. Life is waiting, right outside your door. So get out and live loud.

I’m done. See YOU back here tomorrow for more coffee, movies, and games. Cheers!

Memphis Events:

Searching for Sugar Man” 1/17/2013 at 7:00 p.m. Brooks Museum $8 for non-members.

Bicycle Dreams” Brooks Museum 1/24/2012 / 7:00 p.m. Tickets for non-members are $12 in advance / $15 at the door.

Newbie Brew Day – Jan. 27th Get more information at Fuzzy Brew. Go… and make beer!

Cupids Revenge – Sock It To Me Burlesque – Feb. 2nd 9:00 p.m. Newbys. Go!

Brooklyn Brewery Tap Takeover – Feb. 4th Flying Saucer 7:00 p.m. and Feb. 6th for Brewery Night. Go!