Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Manic Monday Midtown. How about a bicycle ride?

Yeah, I took the bicycle to work this morning. All 11.2 miles were cold with temperatures hovering around 28 degrees. I did get by with three layers of clothing. The balaclava helped out as well. Funny, I saw two other cyclists along the Greenline this morning. We looked at each other and thought “Oh, you’re crazy as well”. Ice had formed along the Greenline in many places. The ice didn’t hamper my ride though. I felt warm all along the ride except for my feet. My toes were FROZEN. I’m glad I made the ride, but since I had to work late, my wife picked me up at work for the ride home.

Flying Saucer Memphis will feature a special beer this Friday at 7. Lazy Magnolia firkin. (From Wiki – Firkin (from Middle Dutch vierdekijn, “fourth”, i.e. a quarter of a barrel) may refer to an old English unit of volume or a cask of this volume.  Beer firkin – 9 imperial gallons (41 litres).) Yeah I had to look this up. The ingrediants? Peaches, amaretto, & cinnamon. Sounds great.

Also in beer news, Aldo’s Pizza Pies downtown is starting up a beer club. Oh… yeah… The beer news only gets better and better in Memphis. Details to come soon from Aldo’s.

More events? The Brooks Museum will feature the documentary film “Searching for Sugar Man” 1/17/2013 at 7:00 p.m. $8 for non-members. The film sounds like a great mystery. Go!

Alright, I’m done. Be safe driving on Tuesday and have a great day. Cheers.

Memphis Events:

Searching for Sugar Man” 1/17/2013 at 7:00 p.m. Brooks Museum $8 for non-members.

Bicycle Dreams” Brooks Museum 1/24/2012 / 7:00 p.m. Tickets for non-members are $12 in advance / $15 at the door.

Newbie Brew Day – Jan. 27th Get more information at Fuzzy Brew. Go… and make beer!

Cupids Revenge – Sock It To Me Burlesque – Feb. 2nd 9:00 p.m. Newbys. Go!

Brooklyn Brewery Tap Takeover – Feb. 4th Flying Saucer 7:00 p.m. and Feb. 6th for Brewery Night. Go!

