Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Happy New Year! Hello 2013.

I rang in the New Year with a few beverages last night. And that was about it.

Lunch today was a quick trip to Local on the Square.

Local Gastropub Memphis

I ordered a burger again.

Local Burger Local Gastropub

I have to admit the burger is good. This time the waiter was very good. Thanks Logan! And our food arrived at our table quickly.

We did stop by The Trolley Stop on Madison for black-eyed peas and greens. By 2:00 p.m. the restaurant was sold out of the dishes. Doh!

For dinner tonight we steak with mac and cheese. Good choice.

The last tips for New Orleans? After getting breakfast at Quartermaster, we headed for a park.

Latrobe Park New Orleans

Latrobe Park to be exact. We sat in the park and ate our breakfast, then headed over to the French Market.

Since we needed dinner that night we headed to Pier 424 for dinner. This was our first time at the Pier. I ordered the gumbo:

Pier 424 New Orleans

And my wife had the peel and eat shrimp.

Pier 424 New Orleans

The gumbo was okay, until I added some corn and sausage from my wife’s plate. My gumbo instantly became excellent. Loved it.

To end the evening we headed over to Finnegan’s Easy for a drink or three.

Finnegans Easy New Orleans

Thanks for the trip New Orleans. We loved it.

Since family is arriving in town tomorrow, I see BBQ in our future. See YOU back here for more food, drinks and things to do. Cheers.

Memphis Events:

The British Arrow Awards: Brooks Museum 1/12/13 2:00 p.m. $8 non-members. Go! We attend every year. Funny commercials from the U.K. And the crowd is large so don’t wait until the last-minute people.

britishtelevision2

Newbie Brew Day – Jan. 27th Get more information at Fuzzy Brew. Go… and make beer!

