Tags

, , , , , , ,

Thirsty Thursday Midtown. Get yourself a drink.

I began my day at Republic Coffee this morning. It’s beginning to look a lot like Christmas at Republic Coffee.

Republic Coffee Christmas

The temperature outside? 50 degrees. At first I didn’t think I needed my gloves for my bike ride. Wrong. I stopped at the Highland intersection of the Greenline and put my gloves on. I didn’t think I needed anything to keep my head warm. Wrong. I put my ear muffs on as well as my balaclava (I wore it as a hat under my helmet).

The ride to work was good. I did come across a gi-normous turtle on the way in. Where did this turtle come from? Is this a sign? Are you calling me slow?

At work I ordered a couple of items for a new project I will work on soon. The project should be interesting. More on that in a later post.

The ride home was good. The temperature outside was 60 degree’s. A wonderful night for a bike ride. I didn’t have to wear a jacket. Sweet.

After I arrived home, I stopped in at Walgreens for a few items. Why? Here is the reason.

shoebox ministry

From the Republic Coffee Facebook page:

“Looking for a practical way to give a gift that really embraces the spirit of the Holiday Season?

Volunteers are collecting and delivering Shoebox Care Packages – a great way to bring comfort and joy to those experiencing homelessness at Memphis Union Mission during the holiday season. Drop off at One CommUnity Center and Republic Coffee Memphis begins this Saturday, December 1st! Click the event link below for all the details on how you can show you care this holiday season: https://www.facebook.com/events/198930166911278/ “

So I picked up some items and packed the items in a shoebox.

shoebox ministry

Very easy to do people. If you have a blessed life, share some with others. If you can give, give. Here is a hint; go to the Dollar Store to buy the items. You can do your part with just a few dollars. Drop off your shoebox care package at Republic Coffee.

That’s my day Midtown. I hope your day was great as well. Get ready for the weekend Midtown because here it comes. Cheers.

