Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Beautiful weather Midtown. I hope YOU enjoyed the great temperatures since I couldn’t.

Yes I had to work today. 7:00 a.m. – 4:30 p.m. And to make matters worse, I woke up at 4:00 a.m. (not on purpose). The pay is great for the weekend, but by the time I am done, I am “toast” mentally. I did see this while at work:

skydive hearse

Wow. Your using a hearse to advertise for skydiving… I wonder if they use sharks to advertise for swimming lessons. Well at least the hearse is an attention getter, I will say that.

The new addition of the Memphis Flyer has 14 books to consider for reading. Since the Flyer has 14 books to recommend, so do I. Here are my 14 books I WANT to read or YOU should read:

“It’s so easy” by Duff McKagen (from G n R). Yes more rock star silliness and drug use. Oh and groupies and alcohol.

“No Regrets” by “Space” Ace Frehley. Again, more rock and roll for the masses. Here come the 70’s… again.

“Red” by Sammy Hagar. Sammy must have 40 years worth of stories to tell. From Montrose (fantastic band by the way), to his solo career, to his time with Van Halen, to his time back as a solo artist, to his time with Chicken Foot; this guy has something to say. “I can’t drive 55.”

“My appetite for destruction” by Steven Adler. The man behind the drums of G and R tells his side of his wild ride in one of the most craziest bands in rock and roll.

“Make up to breakup” by Peter Criss. More words from the 70’s. I am surprised many of these rock stars can remember these stories.

“And speaking of scorpions…” by Herman Rarebell. Another drummer from the band the Scorpions. I have been to several Scorpion concerts. My FIRST concert I attended as a kid was a Scorpions show. Great band the Scorps. They know how to put on a show.

Wait. How about fiction? Okay.

“The Jefferson Key” by Steve Berry. I have read this book. Very good. I love a good mystery.

“The Tomb of Hercules” by Andy McDermott. I have read the entire series of books by McDermott. The story of how he became a writer is very interesting. Another mystery book for you.

“The Ark” by Boyd Morrison. More ancient mysteries by Morrison. I am currently reading another book by Morrison.

“Bloodline” by James Rollins. I have read every book Rollins has written. He is a good mystery writer. I can’t wait for his new book.

“Ice Station” by Matthew Reilly. Another great mystery writer, I read all of his books. This was a good book.

Wait. How about non-fiction books?

“$100 Startup” by Chris Guillebeau. I have read this book. You may need more than $100 to start a business, but the examples are excellent in this book. I recommend this book.

“The Cuckoo’s Egg” by Clifford Stoll.

LOVED THIS BOOK. The book tells the true story of one man catching an internet spy during the cold war.

“The Lost City of Z” by David Grann. Another excellent book. Read this book first, before you see the movie with Brad Pitt. Percy Fawcett heads into the jungle and never returns. This books tells the tale.

That’s my list of 14 books. My goal tonight is to read a few pages of a book not on this list. Then it is time for drinks!

fireball

You had me at “Cinnamon Whisky”. See YOU back here for more fun, love and books. Cheers.

