Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Manic Monday Midtown. Coffee. Get some.

Back to work for YOU! I hope you enjoyed your Monday. Me? Yes, I had my coffee this morning, then began my bike ride along the Greenline. EXCELLENT ride today. Here’s the part I don’t get about riding my bicycle to work. Today my pace was killer. I rode hard the entire time. Some days are like this and other days are not. I can’t tell why I have better days riding while other days I do not. I don’t eat breakfast (unless it is Waffle Wednesday) until I get to work. It is not what I eat in the morning. I wish I knew why some days I do better than others.

The ride? Loved it this morning. The weather was too good to be true. The music playing on the Ipod put me in a perfect mood for bike riding. And yes there is construction on Farm Rd. (southern end from what I could see) at Shelby Farms. The good news is that the construction did not interfere with my ride.

Some articles for YOU. I read www.lifehacker.com daily. One of today’s posts? A D.I.Y. alarm for your bicycle. After going thru the instructions several times, I do want to try the project out. I would make some changes though. The concept is interesting. Many people would just say “store your bicycle inside your house”. I am the lazy cyclist. I do not want to carry my bike in and out every day. It is much easier to chain and double lock the bicycle to my vehicle. I may get some motion sensor lights to place near the bike to deter thieves (or just to give the thieves more light to steal). Then again my bike cost a total of $25.00. If YOU want to make a bike alarm, go here. Thanks Lifehacker.

I also read IloveMemphisBlog daily. You should too. Today Kerry posted an article about bike lanes in Memphis and bike to work day. Good stuff. Check it out.

I’m currently in a reading funk. The book I am reading is “okay” at best. I need a better book. One or two pages a day is not cutting it. Must get a better book.

The ride home? It went great. There were so many people out enjoying the Greenline this evening. I was three miles from finishing, pushing hard, when I had a thought. Why am I riding so fast? Enjoy the ride. So I slowed down, and waved and said hello to others that I passed along the Greenline. You cannot beat this weather. I was singing out loud while riding my bicycle. I’m sure I was a sight to see (or hear “We’re the dream warriors”. Thanks Dokken). If you’ve heard me sing, you would know why I worked in the front office at theaters instead of on stage.

Dinner tonight was burgers and sausage from the grill. Now what? Our plan was to meet friends at Dino’s but the place was closed. So we went to Eclectic Cafe instead. Since I already had my dinner, I ordered dessert.

Nothing but love. It pays to eat your dinner early kids.

Come back tomorrow for more ice cream, coffee and bicycles Midtown. And check out the events listed below. Cheers.

Cycle Memphis April 14th. Meet t 8:00 p.m. at Cooper Young. Go!

Memphis Brew Fest: April 21st. Go!

The Tempest – Shelby Farms April 11-22.

V & E Greenline Artswalk - 4/21/2012 10:30 a.m. – 6:00 p.m. Go!

Bike to work: May 18th “Bike To Work Day 2012″

Carmina Burana – Memphis Symphony May 19 and 20th. Go!

Zoo Brew – May 25 7:00 p.m. Go! (Hint, head to the high gravity beers when the gate opens. This line gets long!) Love the Zoo Brew.

Midnight Classic Bike Ride – 8/25/2012

Cooper Young Regional Beerfest – 10/13 GO! GO! GO!