Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

Since Doug at www.bikinginmemphis.com has already taken “Two for Tuesday”, I will use “Weird” Tuesday today.

I started my day with coffee and a smaller back pack. After having my morning coffee and reading the news I strapped the smaller pack to my bike rack and hit the Greenline. Not the best pace this morning, but the ride was okay. In WEIRD news, I did see a dog along the Greenline with a slice of pizza in its mouth. I kid you not. Weird.

I arrived at work and was stunned by a find. I’ve been working in the same office for 5 years. The office is not big. For the last 5 years we have complained about the heat and air temperature. The management office didn’t know how to control the cooling and heating to the office. My boss discovered that the office thermostat has been covered by a picture on the shelf (the picture fell down last night). The thermostat has been there all along, and nobody knew about it! Doh!

I rode my bike home and noticed many people out and about along the Greenline.

Need a reason to ride your bike to work? (Other than $3.28 for a gallon of gas). Try changing a light bulb in a car headlight. Better yet, try changing the light on your bike. Which is easier? I’m going with “bike”. After 1 hour of unscrewing bolts, taken out a burned bulb, putting in a new bulb, and then putting the bolts back in again, I am beat. Yeah, switching up a light on a bike is so much easier. As I told my wife while cursing at the car, “You should ride a bike to work.” Would have made my day easier. Yeah my back hurts.

Are you ready for my big acting debut? Check out the Mayor’s 2011 Memphis Highlight Reel. Yep, that’s Doug (www.bikinginmemphis.com) and Kyle and I doing our best at “acting”. “Pedal. Pedal with emotion. Now cry while you pedal! Act!” Acting is tough. We had to keep doing the same scene over and over. I’m surprised we were not nominated for an academy award for that performance. “And the best performance for biking in a Highlight Reel goes to…” (I am the third cyclist in line, the man in black). Thanks for the link www.ilovememphisblog.com. (You may or may not be able to see the video using mobile devices, but you can with most computers).

Plans for Wednesday? If the rain is pouring, doubtful I will ride to work. Cold AND rain? No thanks.

Alright, let’s try this offer out. If YOU would like a post card from my trip to New Orleans just days away, send me an email message to: kilmistr AT hotmail.com. Include “send me a postcard!” in the subject line and your mailing address in the body of the message (it can be your work address, mom’s address, home address, brothers address, it doesn’t matter to me). International peeps, you can get a post card as well, it will take a few extra days to get to ya. So there. Get a post card from the Big Easy for FREE!

New Orleans cemetary

I’m done. have a good night and I will see you back here tomorrow for coffee and Waffle Wednesday.